HCSSA Resources


Resources for HCSSA Providers

HHSC licenses, certifies and surveys Home & Community Support Services Agencies (HCSSAs) for compliance with state and Federal laws and regulations. Through these regulatory activities, HHSC protects Texas citizens receiving home health, hospice and personal assistance services. The following information has been compiled from the HHSC website for easy reference. This is not intended to cover all rules and regulations needed to open and operate a Texas HCSSA. If you have any questions, please feel free to call us at 512-336-1005.

To receive our weekly email newsletter, please click here >>

HCSSA Forms - HHSC

HCSSA Statues and Rules

Long-Term Care Ombudsman

Provider Communications (IL & PL)

Medicare Provider-Supplier Enrollment

Employee Employability and Background Checks

Texas Medicaid  & Healthcare Partnership (TMHP) Enrollment

Licensing Standards for HCSSAs Handbook - takes you to the HHSC site

Licensing Standards for HCSSAs Handbook - takes you to our format of the Handbook


What is a Home & Community Support Services Agency (HCSSA)?
Home & Community Support Services Agencies (HCSSAs) are regulated under Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142 and Texas Administrative Code (TAC), Title 40, Part I, Chapter 97.

HCSSAs provide services to people in a residence or independent-living environment such as nursing; physical, occupational, speech, respiratory or intravenous therapy; social services; dialysis; personal assistance services; nutritional counseling; and terminal and palliative care through hospice agencies.

Hospice is a program of palliative care consisting of medical, social and support services to terminally ill patients, when curative treatment is no longer possible. Hospice agencies and inpatient facilities provide intervention services that focus primarily on the reduction or abatement of physical, psychological or spiritual symptoms of a terminal illness for people under their care. They also provide support services for people they're caring for and their families.

How to Become an HCSSA Provider (click here to go to the HHSC website >>)
Complete the Pre-Survey Conference Computer-Based Training (CBT) Course
Before an HCSSA can become licensed, certain members of its staff must complete an important preliminary training called a Presurvey Conference. Successfully completing this CBT will fully satisfy the Presurvey Conference licensure requirement.
 
Complete & Submit the License Application Forms
HHSC introduced the Texas Unified Licensure Information Portal (TULIP), an online system for submitting long-term care licensure applications for all provider types regulated by long-term care regulatory services, including HCSSAs. For more information on TULIP, please click here.
To access the application forms and instructions, please go to TULIP >>
 
Pay the Required License Fee
$200 plus $10 per bed ($1,500 maximum) for initial, renewal, change of ownership or relocation.
 
Pass Life Safety Code and Health inspections
During the initial application process, a facility may admit no more than three residents.
 
Approval by the Licensure and Certification Unit
The Licensing and Credentialing Unit issues a license within 45 days upon receipt of a completed application and passing recommendations about Life Safety Code and Health inspections.